Marriage License Information for Collier County

MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION SHEET

FLORIDA STATUTES, CHAPTER 741

ISSUANCE: Both applicants must appear in person to sign application. Marriage License is issued at the time of application. Once issued, amendments to the Marriage License can only be done by a court order. Forms and handbook can be found at www.collierclerk.com.

  1. License effective immediately for:
    1. Out of state residents.
    2. Florida residents who present premarital course certificate.
  2. Three (3) day waiting period for:
    1. Florida residents who have not attended a premarital course.
  3. Florida residents may apply for a hardship waiver to eliminate the waiting period. This waiver must be signed by Judge.
  4. Applicants must read the "Family Law" handbook provided & sign an affidavit to that effect.
  5. Applicants with common child(ren) born in Florida will be asked to complete an Affirmation of Common Child(ren) form for the State of Florida Vital Statistics. (This is not Recorded)

IDENTIFICATION: Applicants must provide a photo identification with date of birth; e.g., Driver license, Passport or Employment/Student ID.

AGE:

  1. Eighteen (18) and older may obtain marriage license.
  2. Seventeen (17) must have written parents consent and other party cannot be more than 2 years older
  3. Sixteen (16) and under are prohibited from obtaining a marriage license after July 1, 2018.

FEE:

  1. $86.00 (Payable by Cash, Check or Money Order)
  2. $61.00 if evidence of a premarital course has been presented.
  3. $7.00 Deputy Clerk oath & acknowledgment for Affirmation of Common Children form (for parents of common children only), unless notarized elsewhere.
  4. $30.00 for ceremony performed in the Clerk's office.

A MARRIAGE LICENSE MUST BE USED WITHIN 60 DAYS FROM THE ISSUE DATE.

PRIOR MARRIAGES:

If the last marriage ended in divorce, dissolutionment, annulment or death, applicants need to know the date their last marriage ended for the application.

Social Security number is required for license, but is not public information.

WHO MAY SOLEMNIZE:

  • Ordained Clergy, Judiciary, Clerk of Courts, Deputy Clerks and Notaries of the State of Florida

RECORDING OF MARRIAGE:

  • License and Affirmation (if applicable) must be returned to the Clerk of Circuit Court office within 10 days after the -remony. ATTENTION: Marriage License.
  • There is no record of the marriage in the clerk's office until it is received & recorded.
  • One certified copy is provided at the time of recording and
  • Additional certified copies may be purchased for $3.00 each.